Akpabio, Tajudeen are APCs men for Senate president, House Speaker

Spread the love

The National Working Committee of the APC picked Godswill Akpabio, (Akwa Ibom, South-South), as the Senate President.

The committee also nominated Abass Tajudeen, (Kaduna, North-West), as the Speaker of the House of Representatives.

This was disclosed in a statement by the National Publicity Secretary of the APC, Felix Morka, who also disclosed that the NWC nominated Barau Jibrin (Kano, North-West), as Deputy Senate President and Ben Kalu, Abia, (South-East, as Deputy Speaker).

The endorsement of the zoning formula for the 10th National Assembly followed a meeting held by the NWC and meetings with the President-elect, Bola Tinubu, as well as other stakeholders.

It reads partly, “The National Working Committee of the All Progressives Congress met today, Monday, May 8, 2023 to consider reports of consultations and meetings held with the President-Elect, His Excellency, Asiwaju Bola Tinubu, other Party leaders and stakeholders on zoning arrangement for 10th National Assembly leadership positions.

“The NWC noted with respect the outcome of the meetings held between the President-Elect and the leadership of the NWC. The NWC called for further and better consultation with necessary stakeholders in order to assure the support of the aspirants to the National Assembly leadership positions and members of the Party nationwide,” Morka said.

The party urged its leaders, members, and all Nigerians to continue to work for the peace and progress of the country during and beyond the current period of leadership transition.


Leave a reply

%d bloggers like this: