APC’s Oyebanji is Ekiti governor-elect

Spread the love

The Independent National Electoral Commission has declared the candidate of the rulling All Progressives Congress, Biodun Oyenbanji, the winner of the Ekiti State governorship election.
Oyebanji won the election with 187,057 votes to defeat a former governor of the state, Segun Oni, of the Social Democratic Party, who polled 82,211 votes, and the Peoples Democratic Party candidate, Bisi Kolawole, who scored 67,457 votes.
Oyebanji defeated 15 other candidates in the final results announced by the Chief Returning Officer and Vice Chancellor of University of Ibadan, Prof. Kayode Adebowale.
Oyebanji won in 15 local government areas, while the PDP candidate won the remaining one LGA of the state.
The Returning Officer said, “Total number of Registered voters: 989224; Accredited votes: 363438; Total valid votes: 351865.”
How the parties performed:
A- 166
AAC- 409
ADP- 3,495
APC -187,057
APGA- 376
ALL- 290
APP -1,980
LP- 195
NNPP -529
PRP 856
YPP 618
SDP- 8,2211

Leave a reply