CAF Awards: Salah, Mane, Mahrez headline Player of the Year shortlist

Spread the love

English Premier League stars Riyad Mahrez and Mohamed Salah, as well as Bayern Munich’s Sadio Mane have been nominated to contest for the 2022 CAF Player of the Year award.

Egyptian forward, Salah would be hoping to win the award for the third time, although, he must defeat Manchester City’s Mahrez and Mane, who recently left Liverpool for Bayern Munich after the completion of the 2021-22 season.

Pitso Mosimane – who led Al Ahly to a third straight CAF Champions League final before walking away, Aliou Cisse – the 2021 Africa Cup of Nations winning coach with Senegal, and Mandla Ncikazi – who led Orlando Pirates to the Caf Confederation Cup final will square off for the Coach of the Year (Men) award.

Other awards that will be contested for include Inter-club Player of the Year, Young Player of the Year, National Team of the Year, and Club of the Year, while the nominees for the women’s categories will be announced in due course according to Caf.

The ceremony will be held ahead of the final of the Women’s Cup of Nations (Wafcon) – a competition scheduled to take place between July 2 and July 23 – in Morocco. The period under consideration is from September 2021 to June 2022 at all levels.

Full list of nominees for 2022 Caf Awards
Player of the Year (Men)
Riyad Mahrez (Algeria & Manchester City)

Bertrand Traore (Burkina Faso & Aston Villa)

Blati Toure (Burkina Faso & Pyramids)

Edmund Tapsoba (Burkina Faso & Bayer Leverkusen)

Andre-Frank Zambo Anguissa (Cameroon & Napoli)

Karl Toko Ekambi (Cameroon & Lyon)

Vincent Aboubakar (Cameroon & Al Nassr)

Youssouf M’Changama (Comoros & Guingamp)

Franck Kessie (Cote d’Ivoire & AC Milan)

Sebastien Haller (Cote d’Ivoire & Ajax)

Mohamed Abdelmonem (Egypt & Al Ahly)

Mohamed Elneny (Egypt & Arsenal)

Mohamed Salah (Egypt & Liverpool)

Mohamed Shenawy (Egypt & Al Ahly)

Musa Barrow (Gambia & Bologna)

Naby Keita (Guinea & Liverpool)

Aliou Dieng (Mali & Al Ahly)

Hamari Traore (Mali & Rennes)

Yves Bissouma (Mali & Tottenham Hotspur)

Achraf Hakimi (Morocco & Paris Saint-Germain)

Sofiane Boufal (Morocco & Angers)

Yahya Jabrane (Morocco & Wydad Athletic Club)

Yassine Bounou (Morocco & Sevilla)

Moses Simon (Nigeria & Nantes)

Edouard Mendy (Senegal & Chelsea)

Kalidou Koulibaly (Senegal & Napoli)

Nampalys Mendy (Senegal & Leicester City)

Sadio Mane (Senegal & Bayern Munich)

Interclub Player of the Year (Men)
Riad Benayad (ES Setif)

Tiago Azulao (Petro Atletico)

Karim Konate (ASEC Mimosas)

Ali Maaloul (Al Ahly)

Aliou Dieng (Al Ahly)

Mohamed Shenawy (Al Ahly)

Mohamed Sherif (Al Ahly)

Percy Tau (Al Ahly)

Morlaye Sylla (Horoya)

Leave a reply