Okowa’s candidate, Oborevwori, wins Delta PDP governorship ticket

Spread the love

The Speaker of the Delta State House of Assembly, Mr Sheriff Oborevwori, has won Peoples Democratic Party primary in the state.

His victory was announced at the Steven Keshi Stadium around 7.35pm on Wednesday where 820 delegates decided the fate of 14 aspirants.

Oborevwori got 590 votes to defeat Mr David Edevbie, who polled 113 votes.

It was gathered that Oborevwori is being backed by Governor Ifeanyi Okowa, while Edevbie is ex-governor James Ibori’s preferred candidate.

Meanwhile, Senator James Manager polled 83 votes, while the Deputy Governor, Kingsley Otuaro, got nine votes. Former Commissioner for Justice, Peter Mrakpor, SAN, scored nine votes while former Minister of State for Education, Kenneth Gbagi got no vote.

Announcing the results during a downpour around 7:33pm, the Chairman of the seven-man electoral panel, Mr Ndubisi Nwaogu declared Oborevwori as the winner of the primary.

He said, “Mr Sheriff Francis Oborevwori, having scored the highest number of votes in the PDP Delta State governrship primary, is hereby declare the winner of PDP governorship primary.

Leave a reply