PDP, NNPP gain more members as three senators defect from APC

Spread the love

Three senators from the All Progressives Congress senators have defected to other political parties.

The senators who have formally defected from the APC are Ahmad Babba Kaita, senator representing Katsina north; Lawal Yahaya Gumau, senator representing Bauchi north, and Francis Alimikhena, senator representing Edo north.

Kaita, who represents President Muhammadu Buhari’s senatorial district, defected to the Peoples Democratic Party alongside Alimikhena.

Gumau defected to the New Nigeria Peoples Party, a party led by Rabiu Kwankwaso, former governor of Kano state.

Senate President Ahmad Lawan read the letters announcing their defection on Tuesday.

Kaita said he defected from the APC because of ‘marginalisation.’

He said, “As senator representing Katsina north senatorial district, I write to formally notify you of my resignation from the All Progressives Congress (APC), and registration declaration for the Peoples Democratic Party.

“My resignation from the APC was born out of the marginalisation of critical stakeholders by the State Government and Leadership of the Party in Katsina State, where small people like me do not have a chance.

For Alimikhena, he said a ‘multifaceted crisis’ is the reason why he left the APC for the PDP.

He said the APC in Edo has created parallel executives that have undermined internal discipline, cohesion and focus.

The number of APC senators now stands at 67.

Leave a reply