Sanwo-Olu, Abiodun win in Lagos, Ogun

Spread the love

The Governor of Lagos State, Mr Sanwo-Olu, has defeated two other aspirants to emerge the governorship candidate of the All Progressives Congress for a second term.

The other aspirants who contested against the Sanwo-Olu are former Commissioner for Energy, Mr Wale Oluwo and former Permanent Secretary in the Ministry of Energy, Mr Mustapha Olorunfemi.

The two aspirants were not cleared to participate in the primary.

The result declared showed that the governor polled 1,182 vote, out of 1,198 accredited delegates from the total of 1,225 delegates.

In the same vein, Governor Dapo Abiodun of Ogun also secured the APC ticket for a second term.

The governor contested the primary election with five other aspirants; Abdulkabir Akinlade, Biyi Otegbeye, Modele Sarafa-Yusuf, Owodunni Opayemi and Remi Bakare.

He polled 1,168 votes to defeat his opponents.

However, two of the aspirants, Adekunle Akinlade and Biyi Otegbeye, complained about the delegate list used for the election at the Moshood Abiola Stadium, Abeokuta and questioned the impartiality of the Committee’s Chairman, Wale Ohu.

In Rivers State, Lagos based businessman, Tonye Cole won the All Progressives Congress governorship primary.

Cole polled 986 votes to defeat Ojukaye Flag Amachree, 190, Seconte Davies, who polled 47, Ibinabo West 43 and Benrard Mikko, 2.

Senator Magnus Abe did not turn up for the exercise, but got a vote.

Leave a reply