Tinubu leads as counting begins in APC Special Convention Presidential Primary

Spread the love

A national leader of the All Progressives Congress, Bola Tinubu, is leading as counting begins in the APC Special Convention Presidential Primary a few minutes ago.

Recall that seven aspirants on Tuesday stepped down for Tinubu, in the ongoing presidential primaries of the party.

The aspirants announced their decisions in their speeches to the leadership of the party and delegates at the Eagle Square.

So also did one aspirant, Felix Nicholas, announce that he was stepping down for the Vice President, Prof. Yemi Osinbajo (SAN).

Those who stepped down for Tinubu, a former Governor of Lagos State, were a former Governor of Akwa Ibom State and former Minister of Niger Delta Affairs, Godswill Akpabio; Ekiti State Governor and Chairman, Nigerian Governors’ Forum, Dr. Kayode Fayemi; Jigawa State Governor, Abubakar Badaru; former Ogun State Governor, Senator Ibikunle Amosun; former Speaker of the House of Representatives, Rt. Hon. Dimeji Bankole; only female aspirant, Uju Ebeze Kennedy-Ohanenye; and Senator Ajayi Borofice.

Other aspirants who went solo included Pastor Tunde Bakare, Rotimi Amaechi, Rochas Okorocha and Ogbonnaya Onu.

Voting had started around 2am on Wednesday.

Leave a reply