Flamingos drawn against Germany at U-17 Women’s World Cup

Spread the love

Nigeria’s Flamingos have been paired with Germany in Group B of the 2022 FIFA U-17 Women’s World Cup.

The draw was held on Friday with Chile and New Zealand completing the group for Coach Bankole Olowookere’s side.

The Flamingos had a brilliant run in the qualification series for the competition. They overcame Egypt, the Democratic Republic of Congo, and Ethiopia en route to the tournament.

They scored 15 goals and conceded none in the process with Opeyemi Ajakaye striking six times as Nigeria sealed a ticket to India.

Africa’s other representatives, Tanzania and Morocco are in Group D and A respectively.

Morocco will also battle hosts India, the USA, and Brazil in the same group while Japan, Canada, and France complete Tanzania’s group.

The competition is scheduled to run between October 11 and 30.

It was supposed to hold in 2020 but was cancelled due to the COVID-19 pandemic.

Spain won the last edition in 2018. They are grouped alongside Colombia, Mexico, and China.

Groups and Teams For U-17 Women’s World Cup

Below are the groups and teams for the U-17 Women’s World Cup 2022:

Group A: India, USA, Morocco, Brazil

Group B: Germany, Nigeria, New Zealand, Chile

Group C: Spain, Colombia, Mexico, China

Group D: Japan, Tanzania, Canada, France

Leave a reply