INEC recognises Machina as winner of Yobe North APC primary

Spread the love

The crisis in the All Progressives Congress over Yobe North Senatorial District ticket for the 2023 election has taken a new twist.

Bashir Machina won the primary conducted on May 28, 2022, but the APC leadership had submitted the name of Senate President, Ahmad Lawan, as candidate of the senatorial district for the election.

This had irked Machina and his supporters who accused APC of being anti-democratic.

In an interview he granted to BBC, the APC National Chairman, Abdullahi Adamu, had asked Machina to be mindful of his utterances.

Machina, however, on Friday, stormed the office of the Independent National Electoral Commission in Yobe State to obtain certified true copy of the primary election, which the commission monitored.

In a copy of the document sighted by Daily Trust, Machina scored 289 votes out of the 300 votes cast by the delegates.

The document certified by the electoral office on June 23, 2022, did not mention Ahmad Lawan, the Senate President.

Machina has been arguing that Lawan who took a shot at the presidential ticket of the APC did not participate in the primary.

Although he admitted that he was under pressure, Machina has vowed not to relinquish the ticket to Lawan.


Leave a reply