Wike, Saraki, others lose PDP presidential primary to Atiku

Spread the love

Ex-Vice-President, Alhaji Atiku Abubakar, has won the presidential ticket of the Peoples Democratic Party.

He floored the former Senate President, Bukola Saraki; Rivers State Governor, Nyesom Wike; Akwa Ibom State Governor; Emmanuel Udom; former Governor of Ekiti State, Ayo Fayose, and Bauchi State Governor, Bala Mohammed, to clinch the ticket to represent the party in the 2023 presidential election.

Atiku got 371 votes to emerge the winner, while Wike, his closest opponent, secured 237 votes.

Saraki came third with 70 votes, followed by Udom Emmanuel (38), and Bala Mohammed (20).

In a post on his social media handles after the result was announced on Saturday, Atiku said his focus will be on rebuilding and uniting the country.

He wrote, “Today, the march to rebuild and unite our great country moves forward. I am honoured to be named the presidential candidate of the Peoples Democratic Party.

“I look forward to speaking with Nigerians across the country, taking the message of hope and unity as we build one future for one people.”

Leave a reply